Green Hydrogen as an Energy Alternative

A Course on Hydrogen for Engineers, Technologists, and Industry Professionals

Date and Time
Batch 1: 25–28 July 2023, 9 am–5 pm
Batch 2: 22–25 Aug 2023, 9 am–5 pm

Course Duration: 24 hours
Venue: Indian Institute of Technology, Madras

Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600036

Center for Study of Science, Technology and Policy (CSTEP)
Bengaluru, Karnataka 560094


India aims to achieve energy independence by 2047 and net zero by 2070. Increasing renewable energy use across all economic sectors is central to India’s Energy Transition. Hydrogen’s versatile nature and ability to produce zero-emission energy make it a viable solution for a wide range of sectors, including transportation, energy storage, and industries.

Purpose of the Workshop

This certification course is designed to address the following objectives that are part of the National
Green Hydrogen Mission:

This course will delve into the fundamental principles, production methods, safety considerations,
practical applications of hydrogen including costs, and policy perspectives for hydrogen adoption.

Course Highlights


Who Should Attend?

This workshop is intended for engineers and technologists from industrial sectors who are mid-level professionals, preferably with 7–10 years of experience.

This course will benefit individuals working in renewable energy, clean transportation, fertiliser units, and refineries.

Course Modules

Introduction to Hydrogen Technology
Hydrogen Production Methods and Technologies
Hydrogen Storage and Transportation
Safety Considerations and Risk Management
Techno-economics of Hydrogen Technologies
Policy and Regulatory Aspects of Hydrogen in India

Course Faculty

Our course faculty comprises a distinguished group of experts with extensive experience in hydrogen research, industry applications, and policy development. They bring a wealth of knowledge and real-world insights to enhance your learning experience.

Dr Raghuram Chetty

Dr Raghuram Chetty is a Professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT-M. His main research areas of interest include electrochemical systems and engineering, wastewater treatment, carbon dioxide conversion to fuels, and fuel cells. His work on polymer electrolyte membrane-based hydrogen–oxygen fuel cells mainly focuses on bipolar plates, alternative catalyst support, nanomaterial synthesis, electrochemical and surface characterisation, design, and fuel cell assembly. He has 12 patents, 50 refereed research articles, and 7 book chapters to his credit.

Aravind Kumar Chandiran

Dr Aravind Kumar Chandiran

Dr Aravind Kumar Chandiran is an Associate Professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering and leads a research initiative on photo- and electro-chemical energy at IIT-M. He leads a research group of 20+ members working on various aspects of solar energy storage and conversion. He was listed as an ‘Energy & Fuels Rising Star’ by the American Chemical Society for his group’s research on solar energy conversion. He was recently awarded the INSA Medal for Young Scientist and NASI Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award.


Prof Satyanarayanan Seshadri

Prof Satyanarayanan Seshadri is an associate professor in the Department of Applied Mechanics, the head of the Energy Centre of Excellence at IITM and the faculty-in-charge of the Energy Consortium. He works in the area of energy efficiency enhancement through development of heat pumps, thermal energy storage systems, pressure to power recovery through expanders and long term grid scale energy storage. He is also the national coordinator of the Industrial Energy Assessment Cell (IEAC) with its hub at IITM and 6 more spokes at different IITs across the country. He obtained his PhD from Texas A&M in Mechanical Engineering in 2007 and spent about 8 years in the industry working for companies like General Electric and Forbes Marshall before his current academic role. He has over 30 publications, 6 granted patents and 5 patents filed to his credit.

Prof Satya is also in-charge of establishing multi-lateral centres of excellence in the domain of energy and sustainability at IITM such as the recently established Australia-India Centre for Energy

Dr. T.M Muruganandam

Dr. T.M Muruganandam

nikhil tambe

Dr Nikhil Tambe

Nikhil Tambe is the Chief Executive Officer for the Energy Consortium at IIT Madras. He oversees development of industry-academia-government collaborations with a core focus on technologies that will enable the energy transition towards a low carbon future.

He also serves as Chair for the Energy Committee at the Southern India Chamber of Commerce and Industries (SICCI) as part of which he has advised TN state government agencies on aspects related to the E of ESG.

He has prior industry experience with Eaton and GE, driving technology & innovation in wind turbine drivetrains, Tier 4 compliant locomotive engines, gas turbine lubrication systems, hydraulic systems and holds 12 issued US and world patents.

He completed his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from The Ohio State University. He has certifications in DFSS Six Sigma Green Belt from both GE & Eaton, in Innovation Strategy from the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth, in Policy Design & Delivery from Harvard Kennedy School and is certified as Independent Director by the Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs.

Registration Information

To secure your spot in this exclusive certification course, please visit our website and complete the registration form.

Please note, seats are limited (25), so we encourage early registration.


Course Fee*: INR 25,000/- (excluding GST)
*GST is applicable

Contact Details:
Anita Clayton
Project officer, Energy Consortium,
Indian Institute of Technology, Madras